“Are You A Doctor?”


“I am today.”

The_Pretender

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be someone else for a day?  After having a discussion with a long time customer of mine it got me thinking about one of my favorite TV shows in the late 90’s.  The Pretender.  I sometimes feel like I am like the main character in that series, Jarod.
Why?
I think mainly it’s due to what I have done in my life and what I do in my life.  First, let me tell you about Jarod.  Jarod was a child who was abducted at a young age and raised in a think tank called The Centre, based in the fictional town of Blue Cove, Delaware.  He was a genius and former child prodigy with “the ability to become anyone he wants to be,” i.e., to flawlessly impersonate anyone in virtually any line of work.
After talking to Ron (my long time customer) about all the things I do in my life that keeps me busy, he smiled and said;
“You are a Pretender.”
That made me laugh at first because of the simple fact that I was (and still am) addicted to that show.  Then it struck me as I listed out all the jobs I have had (since my first one) and I realized, hell, I sort of am like Jarod.  Minus all the genius and child prodigy stuff.
In just a quick sampling of what I have done for work I found the list to be longer than I thought (considering the lengths of time I have been at certain jobs) that it should be.
Tree and plant unloader for Four Seasons.
Spool Stripper for Johnson Filaments (Now known as Astin Johnson)
Lumber loader, warehouse manager, shift supervisor, kitchen cabinet designer all at Plywood Ranch.
Video Store Manager at Video Plus.
Floor Manager at Pet Food Warehouse.
Assistant Manager at Record Town, Store Manager at Saturday Matinee & District Assistant for Transworld Music (Now known as FYE)
Store Manager for Action TV Rental Center
Deli Delivery for Noonie’s Deli.
Night Manager at Coastal BP
Store Manager for Passport Video
Fitness Trainer at All American Fitness
Computer Programmer & traveling sales director at EPIC Multi Media.
Thermographer & Training Supervisor at Infrared Analyzers
Partner in Internet radio station as well as show host.
Owner of Passport Video.
This doesn’t include the two week stint in Daytona where I sold shells and sea rocks to tourists that will pay for anything with a name on it and the two weeks I helped out as a Bouncer at a nightclub for free drinks and covers.
What surprises me about this list is what I did for each job.  I’ve done menial stuff like cleaning toilets and sweeping floors to graphic design and major marketing campaigns.  It’s like beyond being a Jack of All Trades.  I have filled each role to the best of my abilities.  Each job I immersed myself in to make sure I excelled and understood what I was doing.
I have to wonder about the comparison between myself and Jarod.  Jarod would spend hours, days or weeks preparing for what he was going to be next.  Needless to say, he was like a walking fantasy sports/work star.  Race driver one week, doctor the next, exterminator the next.
Now, I have killed my fair share of bugs but exterminator doesn’t sound like me.  However, I do run a fantasy baseball team (going on 16 years now), 2 fantasy NASCAR teams, usually a fantasy football team or two a year and I have a MMO (simulation sports game) baseball player.
I used to write short stories for Sci/Fi, Men’s adventure, fantasy and romance but time management has not allowed for that kind of writing.  Never to fear, I still write for my own radio show otherwise I’d be a rambling idiot on air.
::grins::
Yep.  Much like Jarod, I’ve never had to change my appearance and sometimes I do truly feel like The Pretender.

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be someone else for a day?  After having a discussion with a long time customer of mine it got me thinking about one of my favorite TV shows in the late 90’s.  The Pretender.  I sometimes feel like I am like the main character in that series, Jarod.

Why?

I think mainly it’s due to what I have done in my life and what I do in my life.  First, let me tell you about Jarod.  Jarod was a child who was abducted at a young age and raised in a think tank called The Centre, based in the fictional town of Blue Cove, Delaware.  He was a genius and former child prodigy with “the ability to become anyone he wants to be,” i.e., to flawlessly impersonate anyone in virtually any line of work.

After talking to Ron (my long time customer) about all the things I do in my life that keeps me busy, he smiled and said;

“You are a Pretender.”

That made me laugh at first because of the simple fact that I was (and still am) addicted to that show.  Then it struck me as I listed out all the jobs I have had (since my first one) and I realized, hell, I sort of am like Jarod.  Minus all the genius and child prodigy stuff.

In just a quick sampling of what I have done for work I found the list to be longer than I thought (considering the lengths of time I have been at certain jobs) that it should be.

Tree and plant unloader for Four Seasons.

Spool Stripper for Johnson Filaments (Now known as Astin Johnson)

Lumber loader, warehouse manager, shift supervisor, kitchen cabinet designer all at Plywood Ranch.

Video Store Manager at Video Plus.

Floor Manager at Pet Food Warehouse.

Assistant Manager at Record Town, Store Manager at Saturday Matinee & District Assistant for Transworld Music (Now known as FYE)

Store Manager for Action TV Rental Center

Deli Delivery for Noonie’s Deli.

Night Manager at Coastal BP

Store Manager for Passport Video

Fitness Trainer at All American Fitness

Computer Programmer & traveling sales director at EPIC Multi Media.

Thermographer & Training Supervisor at Infrared Analyzers

Partner in Internet radio station as well as show host.

Owner of Passport Video.

This doesn’t include the two week stint in Daytona where I sold shells and sea rocks to tourists that will pay for anything with a name on it and the two weeks I helped out as a Bouncer at a nightclub for free drinks and covers.

What surprises me about this list is what I did for each job.  I’ve done menial stuff like cleaning toilets and sweeping floors to graphic design and major marketing campaigns.  It’s like beyond being a Jack of All Trades.  I have filled each role to the best of my abilities.  Each job I immersed myself in to make sure I excelled and understood what I was doing.

I have to wonder about the comparison between myself and Jarod.  Jarod would spend hours, days or weeks preparing for what he was going to be next.  Needless to say, he was like a walking fantasy sports/work star.  Race driver one week, doctor the next, exterminator the next.

Now, I have killed my fair share of bugs but exterminator doesn’t sound like me.  However, I do run a fantasy baseball team (going on 16 years now), 2 fantasy NASCAR teams, usually a fantasy football team or two a year and I have a MMO (simulation sports game) baseball player.

I used to write short stories for Sci/Fi, Men’s adventure, fantasy and romance but time management has not allowed for that kind of writing.  Never to fear, I still write for my own radio show otherwise I’d be a rambling idiot on air.

::grins::

Yep.  Much like Jarod, I’ve never had to change my appearance and sometimes I do truly feel like The Pretender…but not a Doctor.

Leave a Reply

