The Pacific.


The Pacific on HBO

The men of Easy Company. It started with an incredible story and from the opening scene I was engrossed as if I was a part of this story. I didn’t watch this series like everyone else did though. No. I knew this was something special.To me at least.

I decided I would wait until I could watch the entire series, non stop.

I didn’t want to just watch it and become emotional because of what I saw. I wanted to live it by becoming attached to the characters. Figuratively living and dying with them with each disc I popped into the DVD player. Some may call me crazy for watching the entire 10 episode series at once. Some did. But what I got out of watching the series that way was something very few experience. An entire gambit of feelings and emotions just tearing at you for 10 solid hours and in my case, beyond.

I could not get enough of what the DVD set offered. I watched the interviews, scanned the timelines, scoured the mission notes and maps. Even that brought out emotion that was unexpected. What the 101st Airborne went through is beyond amazing and filled with a bunch of little miracles.

It is with that said that I am just way too excited to announce that the companion to Band of Brothers is going to air sometime in the next year. It’s called The Pacific and it tells the story of the Marine  Corp battles while fighting the mighty Empire of Japan. Tom Hanks was quoted as saying “it looks like 2010 for Pacific” but there have been rumors of a late 2009 kick off for the mini series on HBO.

It doesn’t matter when it starts for me. I’ll be waiting for the entire set to come out so I can once again immerse myself into that raw emotion one more time. If you have never seen Band of Brothers, I highly suggest you check it out. You don’t have to do what I did but you will experience something special… that I can promise you.

Update (03/20/2010): The series has started and the excitement behind this one rivals that of Band of Brothers.  I’ve heard good things already.  I also want to thank those that have made this blog post the number one post the last month on this site.  Feel free to Rate the post and add your thoughts on The Pacific in the comments section.

5 thoughts on “The Pacific.

  1. I gotta tell ya, I am going to have a hard time not watching this or keeping away from people who have. I don’t have any cable TV to speak of so part of it is easy. Can I wait as long as I have to for the DVD set?

    I highly doubt it.

  2. I didn’t sit down and watch all at once like you did, but like you I am gonna have a hard time waiting on the DVD’s and not strong arming DISH Network into a free month of HBO so I can see this… from early reviews it looks great…

Leave a Reply

